

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information, contact:

Gideon Hertz, 301-280-5734, ghertz@burness.com Nick Seaver, 301-280-5727, nseaver@burness.com

MAYDAY FUND ANNOUNCES 2020-2021 WINNERS OF THE MAYDAY PAIN AND SOCIETY FELLOWSHIP

Twelve pain experts selected to prestigious Fellowship program focused on communications and advocacy for improved pain care

NEW YORK (March 25, 2020) – The MAYDAY Fund today announced the selection of twelve experts in pain science and care to be Fellows of <u>The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship: Communicating Science & Improving Care</u>. The Fellows come from across the United States and Canada with a wide range of expertise, including anesthesiology, nursing, pediatric care and psychology.

The Fellows were selected from more than 35 applicants by a multi-disciplinary Advisory Committee, comprising leaders working on pain-related issues in the U.S. and Canada.

"The experts selected to be a part of the Fellowship have shown their passion for improving pain care and reducing human suffering from acute and chronic pain," said Christina Spellman, the MAYDAY Fund's executive director. "And through the Mayday Fellowship, this cohort of Fellows will have the opportunity to build their communications skills to make a greater difference in advancing our understanding of what pain is and in using the best strategies to reduce it."

Responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, the three-day, intensive workshop, traditionally held in June, has been postponed until October 2020.

During the workshop in Washington, D.C., from October 28 – October 31, 2020, Fellows will learn skills to effectively communicate and advocate for the translation of scientific research and evidence-based best practices in pain care and management. Following the workshop, the Fellows will receive individualized, follow-up coaching to help them pursue their strategic advocacy goals.

The new class of Fellows will join 84 experts from the earlier classes of *The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship*, which operated from 2004 through 2015 and relaunched in 2018.

"The MAYDAY Fund Board is honored to welcome the newest class of Fellows," said Caroline N. Sidnam, a MAYDAY Fund Board Member. "Improving science and education around pain is vital to improving the way we understand, treat and advocate for pain and those experiencing it. We know the new cohort of Fellows will move these important conversations forward."

The 2020-2021 Fellows are:

- Antje Barreveld, MD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Tufts University School of Medicine;
 Medical Director, Pain Management; Director of Education and Outreach, Substance Use Services,
 Department of Anesthesiology, Newton-Wellesley Hospital
- Kathryn Birnie, PhD RPsych, Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine, University of Calgary; Assistant Scientific Director, Solutions for Kids in Pain (SKIP); Psychologist, Alberta Children's Hospital
- Amber K. Brooks, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology/Section on Pain Medicine, Wake Forest Baptist Health
- **Gregory Dussor, PhD,** Associate Professor and Eugene McDermott Endowed Fellow, Behavioral and Brain Sciences, The University of Texas at Dallas; Associate Editor, *The Journal of Neuroscience*
- Kirsten Hanrahan, DNP, ARNP, CPNP-PC, FAAN, Director, Research and Evidence-Based Practice,
 Department of Nursing Services and Patient Care, University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics
- Maile Young Karris, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine, Divisions of Infectious Diseases & Global Public Health and Geriatrics & Gerontology, University of California San Diego; Associate Director, San Diego Center for AIDS Research Clinical Investigations Core; Owen Clinic Research Director, University of California San Diego
- Elisha E. Peterson, MD, FAAP, Director, Chronic Pain, Children's National Hospital; Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, Pain, and Perioperative Medicine, The George Washington University School of Medicine & Health Sciences
- Edin T. Randall, PhD, Attending Psychologist, Mayo Family Pediatric Pain Rehabilitation Center, Boston Children's Hospital; Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School
- Nivez Rasic, BSc, MD, FRCPC, Medical Director, Vi Riddell Pain & Rehabilitation Program, Alberta Children's Hospital; Pediatric Anesthesiologist, Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesia, University of Calgary
- Ravi D. Shah, MD, Medical Director, Pediatric Chronic Pain Treatment Program, Ann & Robert H.
 Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago; Medical Director, Lurie Westchester Outpatient Surgery
 Center; Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern
 University
- Kimberly Wittmayer, MS, APN, PCNS-BC, AP-PMN, Pediatric Clinical Nurse, Pediatric Pain Service, Advocate Children's Hospital
- Rachel Zoffness, PhD, Pain Psychologist; Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Pediatrics, UCSF School of Medicine

The three-day workshop in Washington, D.C. in October 2020 will be led by trainers and coaches from <u>Burness</u>, a public interest communications firm that works with non-profit organizations globally to highlight solutions that can be used to improve the human condition and advance social change.

The full Fellowship Advisory Committee includes:

- Christine Chambers, PhD, RPsych, Scientific Director, Canadian Institute of Health Research –
 Institute of Human Development, Child and Youth Health (CIHR-IHDCYH); Canada Research Chair
 (Tier 1) in Children's Pain and Killam Professor, Department of Psychology & Neuroscience and
 Pediatrics, Dalhousie University; Scientific Director, Solutions for Kids in Pain (SKIP); 2012 Mayday
 Fellow
- Karen Davis, PhD, Professor, Department of Surgery and Institute of Medical Science, University of Toronto; President-elect, Canadian Pain Society; Head, Division of Brain, Imaging and Behaviour-Systems Neuroscience, Krembil Research Institute, Toronto Western Hospital, University Health Network; 2013 Mayday Fellow
- Renee Manworren, PhD, APRN, FAAN, Director of Nursing Research and Professional Practice, Posy and Fred Love Chair in Nursing Research, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago; Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Northwestern University's Feinberg School of Medicine; 2012 Mayday Fellow
- Cary Reid, MD, PhD, The Irving Sherwood Wright Associate Professor of Medicine, Director of Cornell's Translational Research Institute on Pain in Later Life, Division of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College
- **Steven Stanos, DO,** Medical Director, Swedish Health System Pain Medicine and Services, Seattle, WA
- **Gregory Terman, MD, PhD,** Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine and the Graduate Program in Neuroscience, University of Washington; 2011 Mayday Fellow

For more details on the fellowship, please visit www.MaydayFellows.org.

###

About The MAYDAY Fund

The MAYDAY Fund was established in 1992 to further Shirley Steinman Katzenbach's commitment to social and medical causes. The Trustees decided to adopt Mrs. Katzenbach's special interest in the treatment of pain as the Fund's mission. The name Mayday commemorates the date of her birth and is the international word signaling a cry for help, taken from the French "m'aidez" or "help me."

The MAYDAY Fund, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization since 1992, engages only in philanthropic grant activities defined by its mission targeting the alleviation of pain. It should not be confused with any other organization that uses a similar name or includes "mayday" in its representation.