

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information, contact: Anna Chen, achen@burness.com

MAYDAY FUND ANNOUNCES 2023-2024 WINNERS OF THE MAYDAY PAIN AND SOCIETY FELLOWSHIP

Twelve pain experts selected to a fellowship program focused on communications and advocacy for improved pain care

NEW YORK (July 25, 2023) – The Mayday Fund today announced the selection of twelve experts in pain science and care to be Fellows of The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship: Communicating Science & Improving Care. The Fellows come from across the United States and Canada with a wide range of expertise, including anesthesiology, nursing, pediatric care and psychology.

The Fellows were selected from 34 applicants by a multi-disciplinary Advisory Committee, comprising leaders working on pain-related issues in the U.S. and Canada.

"This new cohort of fellows have dedicated their careers to understanding, managing, and alleviating pain and suffering for people across North America," said Christina Spellman, the Mayday Fund's executive director. "The Mayday Fellowship will increase their strategic communications skills so that they can make an even greater difference in advancing the study of pain and in advocating for the best multidisciplinary approaches to address and reduce it."

During the workshop in Washington, D.C., from October 29 to November 1, 2023, Fellows will learn skills to effectively communicate and advocate for the translation of scientific research and evidence-based best practices in pain care and management. Following the workshop, the Fellows will receive individualized, follow-up coaching to help them pursue their strategic advocacy goals.

The new class of Fellows will join more than 95 experts from the earlier classes of *The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship*, which operated from 2004 through 2015 and relaunched in 2018.

"The Mayday Fund Board is pleased to welcome the newest class of Fellows," said Caroline N. Sidnam, a Mayday Fund Board Member. "These top leaders in the field of pain connect the dots between lived experience, bench-to-bedside research, and advocacy for the equitable treatment of pain. We cannot wait to see how their learnings from the Fellowship improve care and advance the public's understanding of pain."

The 2023 - 2024 Fellows are:

• Staja "Star"" Booker, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor, University of Florida

- Tania Di Renna, BSc, MD, FRCPC, Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, University of Toronto; Medical Director, Toronto Academic Pain Medicine Institute
- Amy L. Drendel, DO, MS, Professor of Pediatrics, Medical College of Wisconsin; Interim Section Chief, Pediatric Emergency Medicine
- Shravani Durbhakula, MD, MPH, MBA, Assistant Professor, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
- Juan Hincapie-Castillo, PharmD, MS, PhD, Assistant Professor of Epidemiology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; President, Board of Directors, National Pain Advocacy Center
- **Deepa Kattail, MD, MHS, FAAP**, Pediatric Anesthesiologist, Department of Anesthesia & Pain Medicine, The Hospital for Sick Children; Assistant Professor, University of Toronto
- Vani A. Mathur, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences & Institute for Neuroscience, Texas A&M University
- Virginia McIntyre, BA, RTR, RTMR, President and Executive Director, People in Pain Network;
 National Advisory Committee, Pain Canada
- Melanie Noel, PhD, RPsych, Professor, Department of Psychology, Killam Memorial Emerging Leader Chair, University of Calgary
- E. Alfonso Romero-Sandoval, MD, PhD, Professor of Anesthesiology, Wake Forest University School of Medicine
- Melissa Santos, PhD, Division Head of Pediatric Psychology, Associate Chair for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Connecticut Children's
- Janiece Taylor, PhD, RN, FAAN, Assistant Professor, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing

The three-day workshop in Washington, D.C., this fall will be led by trainers and coaches from <u>Burness</u>, a public interest communications firm that works with non-profit organizations globally to highlight solutions that can be used to improve the human condition and advance social change.

The full Fellowship Advisory Committee includes:

- Samina Ali, MD, Professor, Pediatrics & Emergency Medicine, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry,
 University of Alberta; Vice-Chair, Pediatric Emergency Research Canada (PERC); Western Canada
 Hub Lead, Solutions for Kids in Pain (SKIP); Research Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine,
 University of Alberta; 2019 Mayday Fellow
- Christine Chambers, PhD, RPsych, Scientific Director, Canadian Institute of Health Research —
 Institute of Human Development, Child and Youth Health (CIHR-IHDCYH); Canada Research Chair
 (Tier 1) in Children's Pain and Killam Professor, Department of Psychology & Neuroscience and
 Pediatrics, Dalhousie University; Scientific Director, Solutions for Kids in Pain (SKIP); 2012 Mayday
 Fellow

- Hance Clarke, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine and Institute of Medical Science, University of Toronto; President-elect, Canadian Pain Society; Staff Anesthesiologist, Director Pain Services Toronto General Hospital, University Health Network; 2019 Mayday Fellow
- Renee C.B. Manworren, PhD, APRN, FAAN, Posy and Fred Love Chair in Nursing Research, Director
 of Nursing Research and Professional Practice; Governor of Lurie Children's PRESCIISE, Ann &
 Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago; Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Chair, Women's
 Faculty Organization, Northwestern University's Feinberg School of Medicine; 2012 Mayday Fellow
- Cary Reid, MD, PhD, The Irving Sherwood Wright Associate Professor of Medicine, Director of Cornell's Translational Research Institute on Pain in Later Life, Division of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College
- **Steven Stanos, DO,** Medical Director, Swedish Health System Pain Medicine and Services, Seattle, WA
- Gregory Terman, MD, PhD, Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine and the Graduate Program in Neuroscience, University of Washington; 2011 Mayday Fellow
- Erin Y. Young, PhD, Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology, Pain and Perioperative Medicine; Director, Clinician Scientist and Research Track; Medical Student Research Liaison; Department of Anesthesiology, University of Kansas Medical Center; 2019 Mayday Fellow

For more details on the fellowship, please visit www.maydayfellowship.org.

###

About The Mayday Fund

The MAYDAY Fund was established in 1992 to further Shirley Steinman Katzenbach's commitment to social and medical causes. The Trustees decided to adopt Mrs. Katzenbach's special interest in the treatment of pain as the Fund's mission. The name Mayday commemorates the date of her birth and is the international word signaling a cry for help, taken from the French "m'aidez" or "help me."

The MAYDAY Fund, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization since 1992, engages only in philanthropic grant activities defined by its mission targeting the alleviation of pain. It should not be confused with any other organization that uses a similar name or includes "mayday" in its representation.