

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information, contact: Anna Chen, <u>achen@burness.com</u>

MAYDAY FUND ANNOUNCES 2024-2025 WINNERS OF THE MAYDAY PAIN AND SOCIETY FELLOWSHIP

Twelve pain experts selected to a fellowship program focused on communications and advocacy for improved pain care

NEW YORK (August 7, 2024) – The Mayday Fund today announced the selection of 12 experts in pain science and care to be Fellows of The Fellows come from across the United States and Canada, with a wide range of expertise, including anesthesiology, nursing, pediatric care and psychology.

The Fellows were selected from 46 applicants by a multi-disciplinary Advisory Committee, comprising leaders working on pain-related issues in the U.S. and Canada.

"These 12 fellows are advancing the study of pain for people across the lifespan and through basic science, clinical practice, and social and psychological support," said Christina Spellman, the Mayday Fund's executive director. "The Mayday Fellowship will expand their strategic communication skills to broaden their impact and to make changes in the science and care of pain."

During the workshop in Washington, D.C., from October 6-9, Fellows will learn skills to effectively communicate and advocate for the translation of scientific research and evidence-based best practices in pain care and management. Following the workshop, the Fellows will receive individualized, follow-up coaching to help them pursue their strategic advocacy goals.

The new class of Fellows will join more than 107 experts from the earlier classes of *The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship*, which operated from 2004 through 2015 and relaunched in 2018.

"The Mayday Fund Board of Directors congratulates the newest class of Fellows," said Caroline N. Sidnam, a director. "These leaders from the fields of basic science, medicine, psychology and beyond are already making it possible for us to advance care for many who experience pain every day. We trust that from the Fellowship training they will receive skills to spread accurate, articulate information to their peers as well as to the public."

The 2024-2025 Fellows are:

• Mark Bicket, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, University of Michigan; Co-Director, Overdose Prevention Engagement Network

- Rachael Bosma, PhD, Co-Director, University of Toronto Centre for the Study of Pain, Research Lead, Women's College Hospital; Chair of the Board of Directors, Pain Ontario
- Michael Burton, PhD, Eugene McDermott Distinguished Associate Professor, The University of Texas at Dallas
- Beth Darnall, PhD, Professor, Stanford University School of Medicine; Director, Stanford Pain Relief Innovations Lab
- Salman Hirani, MD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, Oregon Health and Science University
- Lisa Isaac, MD, Staff Anesthesiologist, Department of Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, Hospital for Sick Children; Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, Temerty Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto
- Abirami Kandasamy, PhD, C. Psych, MA, Co-Lead, Pediatric Pain Program; Adjunct Clinical Professor Children's Hospital, London Health Sciences, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University
- Rajesh Khanna, PhD, MSc, Richard and Thelma O.C. Barney Term Professor of Pharmacology & Therapeutics; Director, Pain and Addiction Therapeutics (PATH) Collaboratory, University of Florida
- Karim Ladha, MD, MSc, Evelyn Bateman Recipe Chair in Ambulatory Anesthesia and Women's Health, Women's College Hospital; Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, University of Toronto
- Laura Simons, PhD, Professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative, and Pain Medicine (Pediatric), Stanford University Medical School
- Jaris Swidrovich, BSP, PharmD, PhD, Assistant Professor and Indigenous Engagement Lead, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto
- **Zina Trost, PhD,** Associate Professor, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Texas A & M University

The three-day workshop in Washington, D.C., this fall will be led by trainers and coaches from <u>Burness</u>, a public interest communications firm that works with nonprofit organizations globally to highlight solutions that can be used to improve the human condition and advance social change.

The full Fellowship Advisory Committee includes:

- Samina Ali, MD, Professor, Pediatrics & Emergency Medicine, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry,
 University of Alberta; Vice-Chair, Pediatric Emergency Research Canada (PERC); Western Canada
 Hub Lead, Solutions for Kids in Pain (SKIP); Research Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine,
 University of Alberta; 2019 Mayday Fellow
- Christine Chambers, PhD, RPsych, Scientific Director, Canadian Institute of Health Research –
 Institute of Human Development, Child and Youth Health (CIHR-IHDCYH); Canada Research Chair
 (Tier 1) in Children's Pain and Killam Professor, Department of Psychology & Neuroscience and
 Pediatrics, Dalhousie University; Scientific Director, Solutions for Kids in Pain (SKIP); 2012 Mayday

Fellow

- Hance Clarke, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine and Institute of Medical Science, University of Toronto; President, Canadian Pain Society; Staff Anesthesiologist, Director Pain Services Toronto General Hospital, University Health Network; 2019 Mayday Fellow
- Renee C.B. Manworren, PhD, APRN, FAAN, Posy and Fred Love Chair in Nursing Research, Director
 of Nursing Research and Professional Practice; Governor of Lurie Children's PRESCIISE, Ann &
 Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago; Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Chair, Women's
 Faculty Organization, Northwestern University's Feinberg School of Medicine; 2012 Mayday Fellow
- Cary Reid, MD, PhD, The Irving Sherwood Wright Associate Professor of Medicine, Director of Cornell's Translational Research Institute on Pain in Later Life, Division of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College
- **Gregory Terman, MD, PhD,** Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine and the Graduate Program in Neuroscience, University of Washington; 2011 Mayday Fellow
- Erin Y. Young, PhD, Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology, Pain and Perioperative Medicine; Director, Clinician Scientist and Research Track; Medical Student Research Liaison; Department of Anesthesiology, University of Kansas Medical Center; 2019 Mayday Fellow

For more details on the fellowship, please visit www.maydayfellowship.org.

###

About The Mayday Fund

The MAYDAY Fund was established in 1992 to further Shirley Steinman Katzenbach's commitment to social and medical causes. The Trustees decided to adopt Mrs. Katzenbach's special interest in the treatment of pain as the Fund's mission. The name Mayday commemorates the date of her birth and is the international word signaling a cry for help, taken from the French "m'aidez" or "help me."

The MAYDAY Fund, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization since 1992, engages only in philanthropic grant activities defined by its mission targeting the alleviation of pain. It should not be confused with any other organization that uses a similar name or includes "mayday" in its representation.