

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information, contact:

Samantha Millar, smillar@burness.com

MAYDAY FUND ANNOUNCES 2025-2026 WINNERS OF THE MAYDAY PAIN AND SOCIETY FELLOWSHIP

Twelve pain experts selected to a fellowship program focused on communications and advocacy for improved pain care

NEW YORK (July 22, 2025) – The Mayday Fund has announced the selection of 12 experts in pain science and care to be Fellows of <u>The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship: Communicating Science & Improving Care</u>. The Fellows come from across the United States and Canada, with a wide range of expertise, including psychology, epidemiology, physiotherapy, pharmacy and more.

The Fellows were selected from 43 applicants by a multi-disciplinary Advisory Committee, comprising leaders working on pain-related issues in the U.S. and Canada.

"The newest class of Fellows shows commitment to the study and care of pain. It's through the Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship that they will expand their communications skills to benefit people in pain across the lifespan," said Christina Spellman, the Mayday Fund's executive director. "The Fellowship will inform their efforts, strengthen their advocacy, and improve the science, care and support of people in pain."

During the workshop in Washington, D.C., from November 2-5, Fellows will learn skills to effectively communicate and advocate for the translation of scientific research and evidence-based best practices in pain care and management. Following the workshop, the Fellows will receive individualized, follow-up coaching to help them pursue their strategic advocacy goals.

The new class of Fellows will join more than 108 experts from the earlier classes of The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship, which operated from 2004 through 2015 and relaunched in 2018.

"On behalf of the Mayday Fund Board of Directors and Advisors, congratulations to the newest class of Fellows," said Spellman. "These advocates and leaders are pushing the boundaries of how we understand and treat pain. Through their various disciplines, they're making it possible to improve care in the U.S. and Canada."

The 2025 – 2026 Fellows are:

- Chen X. Chen, PhD, RN, MBBS, FAAN, Professor & Sorensen Endowed Professor, University of Arizona College of Nursing
- Rena "Liz" Courtney, PhD, Program Director, PREVAIL Center for Chronic Pain, Salem VA Health Care System; Faculty, VISN 6 MIRECC; Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral

Medicine, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

- Yenisel Cruz-Almeida, PhD, Professor, Department of Community Dentistry and Behavioral Science (College of Dentistry) and Department of Behavioral Sciences, Neuroscience and Epidemiology (College of Medicine), University of Florida; Associate Director, Pain Research & Intervention Center of Excellence
- Natoshia R. Cunningham, PhD, Associate Professor, Pediatric Psychologist, Department of Family Medicine, Michigan State University
- **Jennifer Daly-Cyr,** Co-host of the Action on Pain podcast; Board member, Pain Ontario; Person with Lived Pain Experience
- Tori Etheridge, B.kin., MPT, Provincial Clinical Lead of Initiatives and Innovation for Pain Care BC; Clinical Assistant Professor, University of British Columbia
- **Burel Goodin, PhD,** Professor of Anesthesiology, Washington University in St. Louis; President of the U.S. Association for the Study of Pain
- **Simon Haroutounian, PhD, MSc.Pharm,** Professor of Anesthesiology, Chief, Division of Clinical and Translational Research, Department of Anesthesiology, Washington University School of Medicine; Chief of Clinical Research, Washington University Pain Center
- Lisa LaRowe, PhD, Director of Pain and Symptom Research, Center for Optimal Aging and Serious Illness, Massachusetts General Hospital; Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
- **Justina Marianayagam,** Pediatrics Resident Physician, University of British Columbia, BC Children's Hospital; Co-Chair of the Governance Council, Solutions for Kids in Pain
- Gabrielle Pagé, PhD, Rpsych, Associate Professor, Université de Montréal; Principal Scientist, Research Center of the Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal
- **Emily Wakefield, PsyD,** Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Connecticut Children's & University of Connecticut School of Medicine

The three-day workshop in Washington, D.C., this fall will be led by trainers and coaches from <u>Burness</u>, a public interest communications firm that works with nonprofit organizations globally to highlight solutions that can be used to improve the human condition and advance social change.

The full Fellowship Advisory Committee includes:

- Samina Ali, MD, Professor, Pediatrics & Emergency Medicine, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry,
 University of Alberta; Chair, Pediatric Emergency Research Canada (PERC); Western Canada Hub
 Lead, Solutions for Kids in Pain (SKIP); Research Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine, University
 of Alberta; 2019 Mayday Fellow
- Christine Chambers, PhD, Professor, Departments of Psychology & Neuroscience and Pediatrics, Dalhousie University; Scientific Director, Solutions for Kids in Pain (SKIP); 2012 Mayday Fellow

- Hance Clarke, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine and Institute of Medical Science, University of Toronto; President, Canadian Pain Society; Staff Anesthesiologist, Director Pain Services Toronto General Hospital, University Health Network; Canada Research Chair - Chronic Pain, Mental Health & Substance Use; 2019 Mayday Fellow
- Renee C.B. Manworren, PhD, APRN, FAAN, Elizabeth C. Poster Endowed Professor and PhD
 Program Director, College of Nursing and Health Innovation, The University of Texas at Arlington;
 2012 Mayday Fellow
- Linda Porter, PhD, Former Director, Office of Pain Policy and Planning, National Institutes of Health; Co-chair, Federal Pain Research Strategy and National Pain Strategy, Interagency Pain Research Coordinating Committee, National Institutes of Health
- **Gregory Terman, MD, PhD,** Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine and the Graduate Program in Neuroscience, University of Washington; 2011 Mayday Fellow
- Erin E. Young, PhD, Associate Professor, Anesthesiology, Pain and Perioperative Medicine; Director, Clinician Scientist and Research Track; Medical Student Research Liaison; Department of Anesthesiology, University of Kansas Medical Center; 2019 Mayday Fellow

For more details on the fellowship, please visit www.maydayfellowship.org.

###

About The Mayday Fund

The MAYDAY Fund was established in 1992 to further Shirley Steinman Katzenbach's commitment to social and medical causes. The directors of the Fund decided to adopt Mrs. Katzenbach's special interest in the treatment of pain as the Fund's mission. The name Mayday commemorates the date of her birth and is the international word signaling a cry for help, taken from the French "m'aidez" or "help me."

The MAYDAY Fund, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization since 1992, engages only in philanthropic grant activities defined by its mission targeting the alleviation of pain. It should not be confused with any other organization that uses a similar name or includes "mayday" in its representation.